What and why

What is Kubernetes the hard way and why am I even doing this ?

Kubernetes the hard way

It is a Git repository, a great one at that. So great that so many iterations have been made, with different environments and toolings, for example: some may be using Google cloud platform, some Azure or AWS, but the whole point is, it consists of steps that are needed for creating a k8s cluster from scratch.

Scratch ? YES ! I am not talking about Minikube, or any other managed k8s services like GKE, AKS etc. you literally make computing instances and connect them using underlying tools like CoreDNS, ContainerD and so on. It literally starts with creating a CA (certificate authority) to sign certificates for you ! Literally bare minimum.

Why am I doing it ?

I have been tinkering with bits and pieces about k8s, started as a user and literally liked it so much that my past months learnings revolve around "scratching an itch", itch like "How are the pods communicating ?" or "How is an application built natively, to run on K8s" and man I have learnt so much just to get my why(s) and how(s) answered.

It was finally time my questions became too complicated for being answered with a YT video or collection of blogs, so I had to switch the pace, this is the change in pace. After all, what is better than literally building the thing from scratch ? hence K8s the hard way. plus, I am really inspired by kelsey hightower, he is the creator of this repo.

Well, what's in it for you ?

I want you to understand that there is literally no age or time to learn anything. I am a student too and heard the word k8s like 8-9 months ago. Just be curious, ask questions (more often to yourself than others) and find the solution (yes, more often by yourself than others).

Secondly, I will be documenting the journey with a student's perspective. If there is any tool or dependency that is mentioned or used on the way. It most probably is new for me too, you will get to know how I found my answers, the resources I used, even a brief summary for "what was it all about" and "what are we using it for here", so that you have a buddy to move along.

Most importantly COMMUNITY, I see a lot of folks (many student too !) loving the domain of DevOps and make/trying a career in it. Skills and knowledge are the most valued things, doesn't matter the layoffs that even tech giants are doing, if there are skills and knowledge, you (me too :D) will thrive.

Doing it like this, openly, in front of so many people will definitely build a community support, there will be many wrongs and errors (because this is the hard way man !), but we will have a community to help us. I think I made my point, so what do you think ? coming along ? here is the repo link: github.com/kelseyhightower/kubernetes-the-h..

Make a fork of it and start learning/documenting you journey.